minimally invasive gynecology seal of excellenceCenter of Excellence
in Minimally Invasive Gynecology

Alaska Regional Hospital has been designated as a Center of Excellence in Minimally Invasive Gynecology (COEMIG™) by the American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists (AAGL™), the leading association of minimally invasive gynecologic surgeons, and Surgical Review Corporation (SRC).

The COEMIG program focuses on improving the safety and quality of GYN patient care and expanding awareness of and access to minimally invasive gynecology procedures. This designation recognizes surgeons and facilities that demonstrate an unparalleled commitment and ability to consistently deliver safe, effective, evidence-based care.

To earn the COEMIG designation, surgeons and hospitals must partner together and demonstrate a cross organizational commitment to minimally invasive gynecologic surgical care.

Achieving COEMIG designation places Alaska Regional Hospital at the forefront of minimally invasive gynecologic surgical care. Patients who undergo minimally invasive gynecologic surgery experience less pain, reduced blood loss, fewer complications, shorter hospital stays and a faster recovery, so they can resume normal activities sooner.

Meet our COEMIG Certified Providers

Alaska Regional Hospital offers expert specialized care for women who face surgical treatment for:

  • Hysterectomies
  • Uterine fibroids
  • Endometriosis
  • Ovarian cysts
  • Uterine prolapse
  • Other gynecologic conditions

COEMIG-accredited centers comply with requirements designated by the AAGL. Approved facilities adhere to requirements including an institutional commitment to excellence in minimally invasive gynecologic surgery; significant and ongoing surgical experience performing minimally invasive gynecologic procedures; a full complement of consultative staff and services; a designated surgical team and support staff, continuous quality assessment and ongoing education and training.

AAGL Center of Excellence in Minimally Invasive Gynecology, COEMIG and the COEMIG seal are trademarks of the AAGL. All rights reserved.